NEW DELHI: Tom Latham's modus operandi during his gritty half-century on day two of the India v New Zealand Kanpur Test was to use the sweep shot to negate the threat of India's spinners. The appeal was referred to the TV umpire, and within moments it became clear that Latham could not be ruled out because of a technicality. No, it did not bounce.Latham was allowed to continue his determined innings because the ball had touched the grill of the helmet Rahul was wearing as a close-in fielder. "Further, "The ball does not become dead on impact with a helmet being worn by a fielder, however, and so a run out is still possible. "It's a rare instance, but the rules are rules.
Source: Times of India September 23, 2016 09:11 UTC